Creative Ways to Spend More Time With God

5 Oct

 

“Through your precepts I get understanding; therefore I hate every false way.”   Psalm 119:104

  • Set aside some time early in the morning to be alone with God.  I especially enjoy watching the sunrise or being near the window while I drink tea and read from the Word.  The night before make sure that all of your Bible Study supplies are in one place.  I have a Bible Study bag that includes: Study Bible, Pens, Prayer Journal, colored pencils, and a notebook.
  • Copy down a verse and carry it with you throughout the day.  If  you are a student it works great to clip it to your assignment book.  You could also use one side of an index card for the verse and the other side for your to-do list.  Then as you are crossing off items from your to-do list you can remind yourself of the verse.  This is a great way to continually be reminded of Scripture throughout the day.
  • Use the time you exercise!  I enjoy reading my Bible while on an elliptical machine/treadmill, meditating on Scripture, or going through a list of people/situations to pray for. 
  • Pray for people as you are driving or waiting somewhere.
  • Fill your home with Scripture!  I especially like having a Scripture above my kitchen sink-that way I can spend my time thinking about God instead of on how much I hate dishes. 🙂  I also love having one in my bathroom.  I use to joke in college that the cuter my hair looked the more Scripture I had memorized that day.
  • If you aren’t an early morning Bible Study kind of girl find another REGULAR time in your day to spend time with God.  I won’t lie before I had my first baby I remember feeling very unsympathetic to mothers who were in my Bible Study who would say that they just can’t get up early.  After having a newborn I totally understand the exhaustion thing.  (Sorry to all of those mothers I thought bad of.)  Right now it works best in my life to set aside the beginning of Elijah’s nap time as my Quiet Time.  (Whenever I get up early he always seems to wake up!) 
  • If you are a mom place an open Bible on your changing table.  As you go throughout your day read a quick verse as you are changing your small one and intentionally think about that verse for a few minutes as you go throughout your day.  (This idea comes from my former pastor Ryan Fullerton.) 🙂
  • Read Scripture to your children or to the children you babysit.  I would also highly recommend The Jesus Storybook. It is a children’s Bible but I think that every adult should read it as well! 
  • Invest in an audio Bible set.  I used my Christmas money last year to purchase the entire Bible on cd and it was a great investment.  Now I can spend my time cleaning or preparing dinner listening to God’s Word as it speaks to my heart. 

The important thing I think to remember is that God longs for you to spend time with Him.  What are some ways that you spend time with God?

5 Responses to “Creative Ways to Spend More Time With God”

  1. Stacey July 19, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    Found your site through Google. I love the ideas! I’m going to try some. Thanks!

  2. bunny_slippers August 18, 2011 at 4:30 am #

    A great idea is also biblegateway.com–they have a completely free audio Bible you can listen to! 😀 Thanks for the practical advice. I always thought hanging out with God meant being bored while reading/praying, etc, but God is quickly forcing me to unlearn that mindset!

  3. Rachael October 26, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    I do a lot of reading but I usually only pick up my Bible about once a day. One thing that keeps me focussed on God is to always be reading a positive book amid the others (devotionals, books on giving, or self help books which teach you positive mindsets and ways to change) because God is so prevalent in these (even if the author doesnt know it or intend it). If you’re an avid reader, it’s a great way to stay mindful of all the great things God can do and it keeps you hopeful throughout your own endeavors

  4. sade December 22, 2012 at 2:26 am #

    Thank you sooooooo much I am 22 in college and on break, during the semester it is hard to get time away from school , studying I am in two schools at once so it is complicated so thank you for all of you help I am using some of them now. I posted a few scriptures around the house to remember. I feel that God is urging me to spend more time with him I just didn’t know how to do it. So thanks this is really helpful.

Leave a comment