DIY Baby Bassinet Sheet and Mattress Makeover

12 Oct

Elijah only a couple of days old sleeping sweetly.

What can compare to the beauty of watching a newborn baby sleeping?  I remember just watching Elijah sleep when he was little (I still do) even though I should probably have used that time to catch up on sleep myself.  A young friend of mine will be having her baby in the next week or so but when I saw her mattress I thought-oh no we have to fix this! 

It's hard to see but here is a picture of the before mattress. No doubt it had seen better days.

Did you know that bassinet mattresses come in all sorts of sizes?  Unlike crib mattresses which are all the same bassinet mattresses can be any size.  Needless to say it can be quite hard to find a replacement mattress.  (It is also sometimes hard to find sheets that fit.)  I purchased a mattress that was close to the same size as the old one.

Using the old mattress as a template I traced the design onto the new mattress with a marker.

Next the somewhat scary part. Following the lines you made on the mattress cut away the excess but don't throw it away.

Remove the foam from inside the scrap piece. Then take the vinyl part and use it to cover up the side of the mattress. It lined up great for me!

You can either use a hot glue gun or some type of heavy duty glue which is what I used. I applied glue to the front and side sections first. Then I attached this piece to the mattress and then turned the mattress over and glued down the back section.

To make this look even nicer you could make a new cover for the mattress but I thought it was unnecessary.  Bassinett’s really don’t need mattress covers.  Instead I decided to make 2 bassinett sheets. 

How to Sew a Fitted Bassinet Sheet

  1. Measure the length, width, and thickness and write them down.  For this mattress the length was 30.5″ width was 14″ and thickness was 2″. 
  2. I found it helpful to actually draw a small diagram to help me visualize this (maybe it’s because I’m an ACT tutor and draw figures to explain things all the time).  Then you want to add 3″ to each side.  If you add 2″ it will not work so make sure to add 3.  So my measurements ended up being 24X 41.
  3. Cut your fabric the length of your rectangle mine was 24X41.  I used a warm flannel fabric for both sheets and did not worry about the grain lines.

My 24X41 square. Isn't this fabric darling-I hope my friend likes it!

Fold each corner in half with the right sides together. On the raw edge measure from the point 5" and mark it.

Now sew a seam across to the folded edge. Cut off the excess fabric.

Your corners should look something like this. Then finish the raw edges (I used a serger). Next apply 3/8" (or smaller) elastic using a triple zig zag stitch and you are finished!

The finished project! This was very easy to make and fast (even chasing around Eli).

My little helper. I was trying to get him to hold them but that didn't work so well for my active little guy.

6 Responses to “DIY Baby Bassinet Sheet and Mattress Makeover”

  1. Cora Smaaladen March 7, 2011 at 2:08 am #

    How much elastic did you use? Thanks.

    • emersonfamily March 7, 2011 at 3:52 am #

      I sewed elastic around the entire edge of the mattress. I’m not exactly sure how much I used I just stretched and sewed as I went. I would recommend doing the same for a bassinet mattress. If you are making crib sheets instead of bassinet sheets I would probably just sew a 10 inch piece of elastic at each corner. Hope this helps! If not I’ll get out a bassinet sheet and try to measure it for you!

      • Cora Smaaladen March 7, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

        It does help. Thanks.

  2. Sarah July 8, 2013 at 5:43 pm #

    Hi, I’m just trying to figure out your math. You say to add 3″ to each side but then your measurements seem to have 5″ added to each side. Am I missing something or did you add extra to be safe? Thanks!

  3. Sarah Oviatt July 15, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    I’m working on a couple sheets for my baby and I’m a little confused with your math. You say to add 3″ to each side but your final measurements show that you added 5″ to each side. Am I missing something or did you just add some extra for leeway?

    • emersonfamily July 17, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

      I’m not at home right now but I will try to look at dig up my notes from this project and get back with you tonight.

Leave a Reply

