Sew a Crochet Hook Case or Colored Pencil Roll

23 Aug

Perfect for your crochet hooks or colored pencils! Great for all of you inductive bible study gals!

Sewing a cute little case for your crochet hooks or colored pencils could not be easier!  How nice to have them all in one place.  This makes a perfect gift for the crocheting friend, kid, or inductive Bible Study woman in your life.  (This craft always makes me think of my sweet mother-in-law.  I sewed one for her the first Mother’s Day after I married Brandon.) 

Cutting Directions:

  • Cut 3 10″ X 13″ pieces from your fabric
  • Cut 1 10″ X 13″ piece from batting.  You can use traditional batting or even a scrap of fleece.
  • Cut 1 30″ long piece of grosgrain ribbon.   Make sure the ends are cut at a diagonal so they do not fray. 

The finished product all rolled up and ready to go.

 

 

Sewing Directions:

  • Baste the batting to the wrong side of one of the pieces of fabric.  This will be the Outside of the case. 
  • Take another piece and fold it in half “hot dog style”.  When folded it should measure 13″ X 5″.  This will be your pocket where the crochet hooks are placed. 

 

 

  • Pin pocket unto the remaining piece of fabric (this is the inside) so that the sides and lower edges are even.  Sew along lower edge and 2 side edges. 
  • Fold ribbon in half and place the fold of the ribbon in the middle of the short side along selvage edge of the piece of fabric that will be the Outside. 

    This works great for colored pencils too!

 

  • Stitch the Outside and Inside wrong sides together leaving an opening 3″ wide at the bottom.
  • Turn right side out and press. 
  • Sew opening closed.  
  • Starting 1.5″ from the edge stitch a straight line down the pocket.  Repeat every 1″.  Enjoy! 

Like what you see but don’t have time to sew one yourself?  Please contact me.  I would love to sew something for you.  🙂 

One Response to “Sew a Crochet Hook Case or Colored Pencil Roll”

  1. laurapete September 28, 2011 at 4:12 am #

    Amanda loves me so much she made one for me because she knows I never have time to sew. I love my crochet hook case. It’s amazing! I use it like everyday so I always think of Amanda 😀 My Kentucky Girl Creations also thanks Amanda as well 😀

Leave a comment