Frugal Things I Did Last Week

6 Mar
This past week Eli and I made a Birdseed Wreath.

This past week Eli and I made a Birdseed Wreath.

This week I was surprised to see how my frugal ways are rubbing off on Elijah.  🙂  I had a coupon (which could be doubled at Meijer) for a fun kids yogurt (that I don’t usually purchase).  When I got to the yogurt without thinking I said, “Oh no it’s not on sale.”  Eli looked at me and said, “It’s okay mom.  We’ll come back tomorrow when it’s on sale and buy it.”  Really?  I laughed so hard.  

As you can see in the picture above Eli and I made a Birdseed Wreath this past week.  It was lots of fun to make and so much cheaper than one from the store.  Our birds absolutely love it!  I had the birdseed on hand from a craft project we never did last year so it really cost nothing!  We have seen all sorts of different birds since we put it up.  I think it would even make a nice gift to give to someone.  🙂

I combined a bunch of errands together to save money on gas one day.

We picked up books & movies from the library.

I took part in a study and earned $50!  That will go towards our vacation fund.  We have a separate checking account set up for our vacation fund.  Since we have debit cards for this account we can use those on our vacation.  We have had a lot of unexpected expenses lately but I am hoping we can save up enough to go on a short vacation this year probably in May.

I used our new carpet cleaner to clean the rug in the bathroom after little man had a bad accident.  If you have young children I think it is a wonderful idea to have your own carpet cleaner.

I received 3 free tea bags in the mail and a couple of magazines.  Eli also received a free Lego magazine which he enjoyed looking at.

I haven’t felt much like cooking breakfast lately so I whipped up a bunch of Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins.  We enjoyed them for breakfast most of the week and for quick snacks.  I served them alongside fruit and hard-boiled eggs.

I finished recording all of our deductions and getting all of our tax information together.  Although it is a major pain we keep track of just about EVERYTHING which saves us a ton of money on our taxes.  🙂

What frugal activities did you do last week?  

4 Responses to “Frugal Things I Did Last Week”

  1. Renee March 7, 2013 at 12:37 am #

    i need to make a birdseed wreath–we get lots of birds outside of our sunroom, since our yard is wooded, and it would be fun for zu to get to watch them eat at the birdfeeder!

    • emersonfamily March 11, 2013 at 2:01 am #

      You definitely should! I bet Zuzu would love it. I love watching the birds in the morning outside our kitchen window. Usually we buy suet cakes and see the same types of birds. When I put the birdseed wreath out we saw two new kinds of birds. I should really learn what they are called! 🙂

  2. Janet March 21, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

    Do you have a recipe for how to make the bird feeder wreath?

Leave a Reply

