Frugal Things I Did Last Week or What to Do When You Fall off the Frugal Wagon

17 Feb
My sweet little boy wanted to camp out one night in his room.  (He has a teepee someone gave us.)  He fell asleep and slept there all night!

My sweet little boy wanted to camp out one night in his room. (He has a teepee someone gave us.) He fell asleep and slept there all night!

 

Overall we had a VERY non-frugal week.  I literally think we ate out 5-6 times as a family & Brandon ate out a couple of times without me!  It was just one of those super crazy weeks.  In just a few days we had blown our “eating out” budget for the rest of the month & then some!  

While it would be super easy to just throw my hands up in despair thinking of how much I failed last week I”m not going to.  Instead I’m going to remember that there is GRACE!  Isn’t that wonderful?  I’m not the perfect wife, mother, or frugal homemaker that I would love to be BUT I do serve a God who is perfect.  Hooray!   I’m looking forward to things getting back to normal this week.  Still there were still a few frugal activities to share: 

I made a Strawberry Yogurt Cake for Valentine’s Day.  I rarely bake cakes unless we are having friends over so this was a real treat!  The cake was delicious-even the hubby liked it.  Although I didn’t tell him there was yogurt in it!  🙂

I spent a long time looking for a Valentine’s Day card for the hubby and just couldn’t find one that was “right.”  I ended up making a card and writing a love letter inside.  I wrote down a lot of the reasons why I love my husband so much!  Yes it was very mushy but I think he loved it!

I rode along with the hubby this week while he ran some errands.  While he went to a meeting Eli and I bought a wedding present at Bed Bath and a book at the thrift store.  The book was even on my wish list!  🙂

I stopped by Hancock Fabrics and picked up a bunch of patterns on sale to use in the next few months.

We received a package from Nina & Poppy Steve filled with Valentine’s Day goodies: a pretty necklace for me, head massage thing, lots of candy, books, & activities for Elijah.

I also “price-matched” 3 Simplicity patterns at Walmart.

What frugal activities did you do this week?  

4 Responses to “Frugal Things I Did Last Week or What to Do When You Fall off the Frugal Wagon”

  1. Heather February 17, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    Thank you for sharing! This post SO encouraged me because I’ve had a lot of moments where I’ve messed up in going over our budget lately, too — instead of beating myself up for it, I like your attitude of celebrating frugality where you can and remembering grace and that we can try again the next day! Good stuff!

    • emersonfamily February 20, 2013 at 3:38 am #

      I am so glad you were encouraged by my post Heather. It was very humbling to write and a WONDERFUL reminder of grace. Hope you are having a great week-full of the Lord’s grace and frugal things. 🙂

  2. Sheila February 20, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

    It has never occurred to me to price match a pattern at Walmart! I price-match groceries regularly, but haven’t thought about other things. I do have a JoAnn’s next door to my Walmart, but I need to remember this for other things. Thanks! (I came over from The Prudent Homemaker)

    • emersonfamily February 21, 2013 at 1:39 am #

      I would recommend taking the actual ad with you even though Walmart’s policy states that you don’t have to have the ad. My Walmart only carries Simplicity patterns which usually ring up around $8. The cashiers are always in awe that they are on sale for $1 (they just don’t get it). Usually they have to check with a manager who then tells them it is okay to give them to me at that price. Just a little heads up! My Walmart also doesn’t keep their patterns stocked that great so it can be hit or miss. I had 5 patterns on my list last week but they only had three of them. Still it saved me a lot of gas and time driving to the fabric store which is not near where I live.

Leave a Reply

