Frugal Things I Did Last Week

29 Jan
For baby shower gifts I always try to find a nice balance between fun and practical gifts.  This friend received two flannel sheets, two onesies, and a book.

For baby shower gifts I always try to find a nice balance between fun and practical gifts. This friend received two flannel sheets, two onesies, and a book.

 

We were sick most of the past week with colds so my list is a little shorter than usual.  🙂  I’m just thankful we didn’t end up with the flu or a virus.  Honestly I spent most of the week resting and getting extra sleep.  I also read a few books.  

I attended a baby shower for twins (a boy & a girl).  I made two coordinating flannel sheets and two appliqued onesies.  I also included a book in lieu of a card.  At the baby shower I won a game and received two pairs of really cute earrings.

We bought new tires for my Saturn.  While waiting I was reviewing the paperwork from the last time we purchased tires three years ago.  I noticed that the tires had not lasted the full 50,000 miles that they were supposed to and mentioned it.  In return I was given $30 off my purchase and a free alignment.  Just mentioning that probably saved $100.  It sure pays to keep good records!  The tire place told me that my car needed a new exhaust system ($775).  I got a second opinion from CarX.  They were able to weld a new piece onto the car for $159.  I hesitated getting my car fixed and the man offered me $20 off to have it done that day which I did.  The only reason I didn’t want to have it done that day is because I didn’t bring a book to read.  🙂

I purchased a portable carpet cleaner online from Bissell.  I was able to use a rebate code to get $20 off.  I also didn’t have to pay shipping or tax since it was shipped from outside my state.  (If I had purchased it from amazon I would have had to pay tax.)  Carpet cleaning machines are impossible to find at thrift stores so after a month of searching we are just buying one.  We have a chair that really needs a little tlc and a car that desperately needs detailing.  I am going to attempt to do the detailing myself.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.  🙂

We had a guest evangelist at church on Sunday which was great.  After church we had he & his wife over for lunch.  I served Crockpot Chili over Spaghetti & Oreo Goodness.  It was simple and the fellowship was wonderful.  🙂

I used a couple of coupons at Meijer which were doubled for products we would buy anyway.  I also purchased some yogurt, orange juice, and cottage cheese on clearance.  I no longer play the Drugstore Game but I do use a small amount of coupons monthly.

I made two loaves of Cranberry Bread using cranberries from the freezer and orange juice that was about to expire.  We will eat one and either freeze or gift the other.

I sewed a camera strap cover for my camera out of scrap material from the garment bag I made.  It turned out pretty cute but I will probably make another one in a couple of weeks that can hold a lens cover.  I wear a lot of skirts that don’t have pockets so that would be handy.  🙂

I sewed a gift for a bridal shower I will be attending next week.  The bride reads my blog so I won’t be able to share until next week.  😉

The hubby took me on a surprise date where we used a coupon to save $10.  Going out to eat is very important to my husband so we go out once a week.  I always print coupons when I find them and place them in a “Date Ideas Folder” to leave in the car.  The food tastes even better when you aren’t paying full price for it!

What frugal things did you do last week?  

 

4 Responses to “Frugal Things I Did Last Week”

  1. Heather January 29, 2013 at 3:24 am #

    What is Oreo Goodness?!?

    • emersonfamily January 29, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

      It’s not at all good for you but it tastes great! It is also super easy to make. I bet Elijah can make it by himself in a couple years.
      Crush 1 bag Oreos and set aside. Cream together 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup softened butter, 1 cup powdered sugar and 1/2 t. vanilla. In another bowl mix together 3 cups milk, 2 sm boxes instant vanilla pudding and let set. Then add 8 oz. Cool Whip. Layer the pudding mix with the crushed oreos in a bowl. Delicious but rich! This probably makes enough for about 8 people. You could also easily 1/2 the recipe for a smaller gathering.

  2. Janet January 31, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

    We go out to eat once a week as well using the coupons . We also ask for gift cards for Christmas and Birhtdays. We have done everything from a tiny meal at the Chicken places to a grand dinner that cost $200 but it was on a gift card. The main thing for us is we go out every week! and every week it is almost an adventure as to where we are going. Last week we went to Ruby Tuesday’s (we bought gift cards for other’s for Christmas and Ruby Tuesday did a coupon for the buyer so we used that and our bill came to zero. I left a tip for the excellent service, next we went to a movie on coupons from the cereal boxes. We do it every week but we never know where we are going until the day we are going. We look at what coupons are available and off we go. We have gone for a bike ride, a hike to see a waterfall and an ice cream on discount. We are both in our 60’s and it makes us both so excited we are like little kids! OHHHHHHH IT”S DATE DAY!!!

    • emersonfamily February 1, 2013 at 2:50 am #

      That sounds like so much fun! My family loves the outdoors. We actually own kayaks and go kayaking nearly every week when the weather is warm.

Leave a Reply

