Crockpot Granola and Granola Bars

7 Sep

Crockpot Granola is not only delicious but it is a snap to make!

I have been a granola lover for years!  When cafeteria food was bad in college I survived almost solely on the stuff.  🙂  There is just something about it that I just love.  My favorite kind is plain Oats and Honey so that way I can add in dried fruit whenever I wish.  I realized a couple of years ago that homemade granola was one of those things I needed to add to my list of things that I can make myself in order to save money.  I also love that I can control the ingredients as well.  You can even make this organic for a small fraction of a box from Whole Foods. 🙂 

Homemade CrockPot Granola:

  • In a crockpot combine the following:
  • about 5 cups of Old Fashioned Oats-if you add a little more/less it won’t make a big difference
  • 1 t. Cinnamon
  • 1 t. vanilla or almond extract
  • 1 c. shredded coconut
  • 1/2 c. oil-I really like to use coconut oil
  • 1/2 c. honey-you could use any other type of sweetener you desire.  (I have been meaning to try it with maple syrup as I am sure that would be excellent.)
  • 1 c. (or more) additions: nuts, chocolate chips,  or any other dried fruit. 
  • Anything else you want to add as well!  It’s your granola so make it however you like. 

Cook for about 4.5-5 hours on low with the lid cracked to allow a little of the heat to escape.  (I usually just keep a wooden spoon in mine.)  If your Slow Cooker cooks extremely fast this may only take 4 hours.  It is done when it turns brown.  You do need to stir it from time to time.  The more you stir it the finer the granola will be.  I stir mine about every hour and it is not very clumpy. 

 

My favorite way to enjoy homemade granola is over a bowl of homemade yogurt with fresh fruit.

Homemade Granola Bars from Granola Mix:

Making granola bars from this mix could not be easier!    Simply combine 2 beaten eggs with 2 cups of granola and bake 15-20 minutes at 350.  Allow to cool and cut into bars.  These are very filling and delicious!

8 Responses to “Crockpot Granola and Granola Bars”

  1. Tres bien September 7, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    I am totally going to make this!! Thanks for sharing!!

    • emersonfamily September 8, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

      I hope it turns out great! Let me know. 🙂

  2. Jill Schilb September 10, 2011 at 1:48 am #

    I tried it out! Yummy! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • emersonfamily September 10, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

      I’m so glad. Did you add anything to it?

  3. laurapete September 28, 2011 at 4:17 am #

    Do you cook the chocolate chips in with it or add afterwards?

    • emersonfamily September 28, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      I would add the chocolate chips afterwards. Otherwise they might melt while the granola is cooking. I usually just toss in a handful of chocolate chips when I make the granola bars. 🙂

  4. movingmommy November 30, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Do you have to refrigerate this mix or the bars afterward?

    • emersonfamily December 9, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

      I usually do keep it in the refrigerator since there are no preservatives in the recipe. Hope you enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

