Homemade Hamburger Helper

23 Mar

A great healthy nutritional alternative to hamburger helper.

My sweet husband loves hamburger helper.  I however don’t love the cost or the nutrition it lacks.  Instead we make this delicious homemade version for a fraction of the price.  It is sure to be a hit at your house as well!  Makes 2 hearty servings.

  • Saute: 1/4 pound of ground beef with 1/4 c. onion, 1/4 c. green pepper and 1/2 t. minced garlic.  When meat is no longer pink add in:
  • 2 c. V8 or tomato juice, 1 c. elbow noodles, 1 t. Worcestershire sauce (soy works also), 3/4 t. salt, and a dash of pepper.  Bring to a boil.  Simmer for 20 minutes for regular macaroni or 12 minutes for small macaroni.  Sprinkle with cheddar cheese and enjoy!
4 Responses to “Homemade Hamburger Helper”

  1. Katelyn March 23, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    This looks yummy! I will have to make it sometime this week.

    • emersonfamily March 24, 2011 at 1:39 am #

      Yeah but don’t forget to triple it at least! This recipe is only for 2 or 3. 🙂

  2. Rachel March 23, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Okay, so I’m not a fan of the original Hamburger Helper… I really like the cheeseburger mac myself. Do you have a recipe for it as well?

  3. emersonfamily March 24, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    I make this one and a beef stroganoff type one. I haven’t made a cheesy mac one but I”ll put it on my menu for next week to try to figure one out. It can’t be that hard. Probably just some extra cheese mixed in or cheddar cheese powder which I do actually have on hand. 🙂

Leave a Reply

