New Year New Start

1 Jan

Eli on New Year's Eve last year. How did he grow up so fast?

I just love starting a new year.  For me it brings so much excitement and anticipation.  I love thinking about my goals for the year and what the year might possibly hold.  This past week my sweet husband blessed me with a free morning retreat.  I headed to the local library of course (because it’s much cheaper and closer than the nearest coffee shop 10 miles away).  I cozied up in a little corner and had a wonderful time soaking up God’s Word.  I never cease to be amazed by all of the wonderful gems that it contains.  Every time I read it I learn something new as God’s speaks to my heart as only He can do. 

Next I spent some time reflecting on 2010.  I spent time in prayer seeking God’s direction for areas in my life that could use some improvement.  I broke things down into the following areas:

  • Spiritually my main goal in this area is to MEMORIZE God’s Word.  Psalm 119:11 says, “I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.”  Besides the great blessing of being able to recall God’s Word often, memorizing God’s Word has allowed me to ponder it and to really stop to think more deeply about it. 
  • Physically I would like to lose 30 pounds this year in order that I might serve my family and God’s kingdom more effectively.  Also to eat at least 3-4 veggies servings everyday.  I guess I should also add learn new ways to fix vegetables that my whole family enjoys.  Last week I made Whipped Carrots and lets just say carrots should never be made that way! 
  • Intellectually I want to finish my last class-Biblical Hebrew and graduate in May from seminary.  I have really enjoyed my time at Southern but feel that I am ready for this season of life to end.
  • As a Wife: I desire to be even more organized by the end of next year and to keep a house that is ready for company with a 5 minutes pick up.  (I don’t say company ready house because I think it’s important to enjoy your home having a book out on the coffee table or blocks on the floor.  Just clean enough that everything could be picked up in 5 minutes or less if friends were coming over.  I think this would help us continue to cultivate a spirit of hospitality in our home.)
  • As a Mom: Finish Eli’s nursery, increase the time I spend reading to Eli everyday, and sew something memorable for Eli (maybe a quilt maybe something else). 
  • Friends/Others: Remember birthdays, anniversaries better, expand my circle of friends and bless my neighbors. 

Well that’s about it for my plans for the New Year.  What are your plans?

One Response to “New Year New Start”

  1. ann January 1, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    the ususal, loose weight! Also, to be a better steward of our grocery money-which means better meal planning! trying to plan food consumption here a little better to stretch it all out!

Leave a Reply

