November Reads

12 Dec

Some November Reads

I know it’s already the middle of December but I thought I’d share what I’ve been reading lately.  (I went on vacation and meant to post this before.) 

  • Because He Loves Me-A WONDERFUL book.  If you are looking for a last-minute Christmas gift this is a great one.  Not only is the book inspirational, but it overflows with practical applications for the believer to apply the Gospel to all areas of their life.  I have already read it a couple of times and each time it speaks straight to my heart.  A great book to read alone or to read in a group.  My church used it for a Ladies Summer Bible Study one year.
  • Choosing Gratitude-Do you struggle to be truly grateful for all that you have?  I think everyone can be more grateful.  As believers it is clear that God desires for His people to have hearts overflowing in Thanksgiving.  One of my goals the past month or so has been to cultivate a more grateful heart so this was perfect. 
  • The Person of Christ-I read this book for school along with The Work of Christ.  Honestly I found it kind of dull and wouldn’t recommend it.  There are better books out there.  If you are looking to read a book about the person of Christ I would instead recommend: Jesus and the Gospels by Blomberg or Jesus the Messiah by Stein.
  • Williams Sonoma-Kid’s Parties-GREAT.  I really enjoyed this book.  Enough that if I found it really cheap I would probably buy it.  I actually used the Lemon Cake and Lemon Icing recipe for Elijah’s birthday cake.  (pictures to follow tomorrow) 🙂  This book had excellent ideas for birthday parties for kids 3 and up.  Not much about birthday ideas for a one year old.
  • Eating Well 500 Calories-GREAT.  As we try to continually pursue a healthy lifestyle I found this book to help us stay within our goal of healthy yet nutritious food.  We really enjoyed 2 soup recipes from this book. 
  • Perfect Table Settings-okay so this one might sound pretty nerdy but it was really cool.  It contains about 100 different ways to fold napkins.  Can you believe there are that many ways to fold a napkin.  I think before reading this book I knew about 3 folds now I know a couple more.  It also includes step by step photos that anyone could follow.  Especially great for the holiday season where we tend to use fancy napkin folds and china more. 
  • Cupcakes from the Primrose Bakery-had lots of ideas and even inspired me to make Chocolate Cupcakes for Eli’s birthday.  I’d like to eventually be more creative in the area of cakes and cupcakes.  I figure there will always be birthdays so there will always be a need for cake. 
  • Confetti Cakes-another inspiring book.  This one focuses more on using fondant.  Currently I am a little scared of it but maybe someday.

So that’s most of what I’ve been reading the past month.  What good books have you been reading lately?

Leave a Reply

