Why I love the Bulk Herb Store

7 Nov

Ever since my mom introduced me to the wonder of Celestial Seasonings hot herb tea I was hooked.  I remember pouring myself a cup of tea, adding a sugar cube, and thinking I was so cool.  Well not much has changed I guess.  I think I would fit in well in England because it seems like every afternoon I am making a cup of tea and sitting down for a couple of minutes to relax.  My love for tea continues to grow over the years.  Perhaps it is because of all of the fond memories that I have that involve tea.  I enjoyed tea at home occasionally growing up but it was when I went to college that I really became hooked.  In college I frequently shared a cup of tea with a friend in my dorm room after a long day.  It was a great time for us to unwind and just minister to one another as we talked.  Now I am blessed to be able to have a cup of tea with my sweet husband often.  What could be better than that?  (I was actually the one to introduce him to tea.  I’m really glad he likes it!)  If you are ever in my area please let me know.  I would love to have you over for tea. 

If you are an avid tea drinker like myself then you must try some loose leaf tea!  You may never be able to drink tea made in a bag again!  The difference in taste is hard to explain you will just have to try it.  Loose leaf tea is much cheaper than purchasing a box of tea bags and so much better.   Where in the world do you buy tea?  Some natural food stores sell loose tea but they are quite expensive.  Instead I buy all of our loose tea from the Bulk Herb Store.  I have been buying tea from them for probably five years at least.  I know I was in college the first time I ordered tea from them because my friends thought I was crazy!  Their prices are amazing and I have not found one tea or herb that I was unhappy with.  The store also ships insanely fast!  They sell herbs in bulk which you can use to make your own tea blends, tinctures, additions to cooking, etc.  So far I have only made my own blend of Mama Tea but hope to come up with more in the future.  I plan on making our own Emerson Blend knock off of Tazo’s Passion Tea (Brandon’s favorite).  They also sell books, videos, and other resources.

The following are some of tea blends that we have enjoyed in our home which were purchased from the Bulk Herb Store:

  • Christmas Tea
  • Creamy Pumpkin Pie Tea-absolutely amazing with a splash of Pumpkin Spice cream.  Starbucks has nothing compared to this!
  • Frosty Kandy Kane Tea
  • Red Raspberry Brew-wonderful tea for women to drink.  Helps alleviate symptoms from an unwanted friend who appears monthly.
  • Rise and Shine Tea
  • Red Roobios-my favorite!

Today we also tried adding a teaspoon of Daily Boost Herba-Smoothie Mix to our smoothies.  It is like adding a scoop of vitamins to your morning smoothie.  (I have found smoothies to be a great way to sneak nutrition into Brandon’s diet.)  This blend increases alertness and energy.  Who couldn’t use a little more of that!  They also sell blends to help relieve stress/anxiety and to increase circulation. 

What are some of your favorites from the Bulk Herb store?

2 Responses to “Why I love the Bulk Herb Store”

  1. Kim November 7, 2010 at 3:09 am #

    so how do you make these healthy smoothies and where do you get the daily boost–herba stuff?>???

    • emersonfamily November 7, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

      I purchase the Daily Boost herb blend from The Bulk Herb Store.
      http://www.bulkherbstore.com/Daily-Boost-Herba-Smoothie

      To make a basic smoothie I use:
      1 teaspoon of the boost-put this in your blender first so it mixes in well.
      1/2 c. yogurt or 1 container-any flavor if fine we usually use plain or vanilla.
      1 c. frozen fruit or you can also use fresh fruit and throw in a couple ice cubes. We almost always have a bananna in our smoothies since they are so cheap!
      2/3 c. juice: orange, apple, mango, your choice
      Combine well in blender. I like to add just a little sweetener to it as well.
      You can also add a little more liquid if you like do not like a thick smoothie. We like to be able to drink a smoothie from a straw. We also sometimes make Green Smoothies but I haven’t posted about those because Brandon doesn’t know I make them. 😉 I’d love to know what some of your favorite smoothie recipes are.

Leave a Reply

