Apple Cranberry Muffins

28 Oct

Apple Cranberry Muffins-a wonderful fall treat!

For the last couple of weeks I have been watching for the cranberries to appear and then finally last week I found them on sale at Aldi.  I’m waiting till they hit .99 to buy a couple more bags for the freezer!  One of my favorite things to do with them is to make bread of muffins.  The following is my favorite muffin recipe.  They are pretty sweet-I would call them a desert muffin more so than a healthy muffin.  🙂  I sent some home to my family and they gobbled them up like crazy!  The following recipe makes 18 muffins.

  • 3 c. flour-you can use white flour, wheat flour or combination-I used whole wheat pastry.
  • 2 t. baking soda
  • 2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 c. brown sugar or Sucanat-I think this could be decreased and they would still be great!
  • 1/2 c. oil
  • 2 t. vanilla
  • 1 1/2 c. apples diced-I like Gala but any will do great.
  • 1 1/2 c. cranberries-whole
  • 1 c. walnuts chopped
  • Mix all of the ingredients together and add in the apples, cranberries, and walnuts last.  Mix until everything is just combined-DO NOT OVERMIX or your muffins will be tough.  Bake at 350 in greased muffin tins or paper lined tins for 20-25 minutes.  Delicious! 
One Response to “Apple Cranberry Muffins”

  1. Melodie October 30, 2010 at 3:21 am #

    I have been waiting to find a yummy fall muffin recipe and this perfectly fits the bill. Thanks so much for posting it at Vegetarian Foodie Fridays! I hope to see you again soon!

Leave a Reply

