Date Night Shirt: Simplicity 2892 Review

8 Sep

It’s been years since I have sewn a shirt for myself.

Before Brandon & I headed off on our wonderful Overnight Get-a-Way I wanted to make a cute shirt.  Something light, summery, and perfect for a date night with the hubby.  I found a beautiful solid teal fabric with just a bit of stretch to it in my stash.  I had a couple of patterns to choose from but finally settled on Simplicity 2892 view E.  (My sweet friend Emily had sewn Simplicity 2892 this spring and I instantly fell in love with it when she showed me her shirt.  At once I knew I had to try my hand at it sometime soon.)  So that’s what I did.

Such a fun summer shirt.

This was the first time that I had ever worked with single fold bias tape.  Honestly I’m still not sure if I applied it correctly but it looks okay.  It is important to note that you want to make sure that your bias tape matches because it will be seen on the outside.  Just fyi.

 

I usually just tie the belt into a knot rather than a bow.

A few notes about the pattern.  I found it very helpful to use a ham when pressing this shirt.  For Step 9 make sure to mark which is the front and which is the back to avoid sewing the wrong part together like I did. ;)

My new date night go-to shirt.

Overall I love this shirt.  I have worn it at least once a week since I made it in August.  :)  It was fairly easy to make and I plan on making another one next summer.  This is a great pattern since it contains 4 different shirts: 3 sleeveless and 1 with short sleeves.  I may try my hand at sewing View A this fall.

2 Responses to “Date Night Shirt: Simplicity 2892 Review”

  1. Heather September 9, 2012 at 2:51 am #

    Have you ever thought about selling these?! That’s such a cute top! You should open your own Etsy shop. :)

    • emersonfamily September 9, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

      I have debated for about 2 years about opening an etsy shop but the time just hasn’t been right yet. :) I do occassionally do sewing for friends and family. After that there usually just isn’t that much time left to think about opening an etsy shop. We’ll see. I feel like I really need to wait until I have a decent camera to take pictures. My camera (& photography skills) leave much to be desired. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

