Simplicity 2165 Review: Baby Swaddler-Baby Shower Gift

15 Apr

Such a fun gift to sew and give away.

 

This past week I was blessed to be able to attend 2 baby showers!  :)  How fun to be able to “shower” a friend with gifts as she prepares for the birth of her son/daughter.  Looking back on my showers for Elijah many of the gifts that meant the most were those which someone made especially for me.  I like to do the same hoping that the gift will mean a lot to my friend knowing that it was made with lots of love and prayers.  Sewing for babies is also a blast!  :)

I picked up Simplicity 2165 a couple of weeks ago knowing that any of the projects would be perfect to give away.  The pattern includes a nursing cover, diaper changing mat, doll (with clothes), decorative ruffle butt girl diaper covers, and a baby swaddler.  I made the baby swaddler (they call it a bunting) this past week.  It was such a great pattern that I actually made it twice one for each friend.  :)

 

I chose a soft flannel for both the lining and outside fabric. Flannel is my favorite type of fabric to work with for babies.

 

The only part of the pattern that I found slightly difficult was the very first step-making the darts on the bunting front.  I actually called Simplicity’s 1 800 number and spoke to the sweetest lady who helped me figure it out.  :)  Other than that this pattern would work well for even a beginner seamstress.  The last step was also a little bit difficult with velcro placement.  Before you sew on the velcro be sure to double-check the placement.

I haven’t actually used this swaddler/bunting on my own child so I can’t actually say how well it works on an actual baby.  It is awfully cute though don’t you think?  I was very pleased with how it turned out.  I am sure this will go in the tried and true pile.  :)

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

