Fun Bridal Shower Gift

16 Sep

This weekend I will be attending a bridal shower for a dear friend of mine.  I thought it would be really nice to purchase her a nice lingerie bag as a gift.  I searched around online and found one that I really liked but was shocked by the price $54!  Yikes!  That’s a little bit too much for a bag in my mind.  So instead I decided to design my own bag especially made for her.  Hope she likes it.  If you would like to sew a bridal lingerie bag too just follow the directions.  I think this makes a great gift!

You will need 1/2 yard of fabric, 1/2 yard of lining fabric, 1 button, thread to match, pins, measuring tape, and scissors.

Cut out 1 rectangle 14X21 of each the fabric and the lining fabric.  I used a nice high quality Satin fabric for the lining not a cheap lining fabric.  I wanted it to feel luxurious.  I plan on making a couple more of these in the future so I actually made a pattern rectangle that measured 14X21. 

The easiest method would be to place the rectangles wrong sides together and stitch around leaving a small opening. Then turn the bag inside out so that the pretty side of the fabric is showing and sew the opening shut.

 

Next fold one end of the fabric over 7.5" and sew the side seams in order to make a pocket.

Make a mark in the middle of the flap @ 6.5. This is where you will make a button-hole. Refer to your sewing machine manual for instructions on making a button-hole. I made the button-hole to fit a 3/4" button.

Mark your button placement and attach button either by hand or using your machine. Then I like to apply Fray Block to the button-hole and button to prevent it from fraying.

Now you are all finished!

Other Notes: I found that pressing as I sewed helped the bag to look much more professional.  I pressed as I sewed on my second bag (not pictured).  You will be able to get 2 bags out of 1/2 yard of fabric and 1/2 yard of lining fabric.  I wanted my finished bag to measure 12.5X7.5.  If you would like to make your bag larger or smaller you can adjust the cut measurements of 14X21 accordingly.  This idea could also be adapted for a variety of bags to hold other items.  I might make one to hold hair accessories for trips.  :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

